About us

The OAPEN Foundation is a not-for-profit organisation based in the Netherlands, with its registered office at the National Library in The Hague. OAPEN is dedicated to open access, peer-reviewed books.

OAPEN operates three platforms:

OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) was developed as a 30-month targeted project co-funded by the EU in its eContentplus-program (2008-2010). The goal of the project was to achieve a sustainable publication model for academic books in humanities and social sciences and to improve the visibility and usability of high quality academic research in Europe. After the close of the project, OAPEN continued its activities as a foundation.

OAPEN Foundation was established by the University of Amsterdam (UvA), the University of Leiden (UL), the University library of Utrecht University (UU), the Netherlands Academy of Sciences (KNAW), the National Library of the Netherlands (KB) and Amsterdam University Press (AUP).


OAPEN’s goals are:

  • to build a branded collection of open access peer-reviewed titles;
  • to increase the visibility and retrievability of high-quality publications;
  • to promote open access book publishing.

Governance Structure

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board consists of the following members:

  • Kimmo Tuominen (chair) – The National Library of Finland
  • Kurt De Belder (vice-chair) – Leiden University
  • Reinier Groen (audit committee)
  • Lidia Borrell-Damián – Science Europe
  • Charles Watkinson – University of Michigan
  • Antia Wiersma (audit committee) – Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences

Advisory Board

In 2021 an Advisory Board was established. The role of the Advisory Board is to provide the Supervisory Board with solicited and unsolicited advice on the business matters of OAPEN. The Advisory Board also has the right to render a binding nomination for one member of the OAPEN Supervisory Board.

The Advisory Board comprises members from different stakeholder groups and geographical regions. The members are:

  • Dirk Pieper (until 2024), Deputy Director, Bielefeld University Library
  • Natalia Grygierczyk (until 2025), Director, Radboud University Press
  • Claire Redhead (until 2025), Director, OASPA
  • Regula Graf (until 2025), Scientific Officer, Swiss National Science Foundation
  • Wendy Queen (until 2025), Director, Project MUSE
  • Marin Dacos (until 2025), National Open Science Coordinator, French Ministry of Science
  • Brian Hole (until 2024), Founder and CEO, Ubiquity Press
  • Agnès Ponsati (until 2024), Director, CSIC – Unit of Information Resources for Research, Director (Spanish National Research Council)
  • Cameron Neylon (until 2025), Professor of Research Communications, Curtin University, Co-lead COKI

Organisational Structure

OAPEN Articles of Association

You can find OAPEN’s Articles of Association linked.